YOUR SPECIAL DAY. YOUR SPECIAL WAY
My Vow To You Is A
To apply for a marriage license, both parties must appear in person together at the City/Town Clerk’s Office. Each must be at least 18 years of age. If under the age of 18, you must obtain a court order from a probate or district court.
There is a mandatory 3-day waiting period from the date "the Intention" is filed. This date can only be waived with a court order. The Intention is valid for 60 days from the date you file (not from when you pick up your marriage license). Your license can be used to marry in any city or town within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Keep in mind, no Officiant in Massachusetts can solemnize your wedding without a proper marriage license. It is your responsibility to apply for and obtain your marriage license in a timely manner.
It is suggested that you bring proper identification with you when you file your "Marriage Intentions".
Massachusetts no longer requires a blood test.
There is no requirement in Massachusetts to have witnesses present for your marriage to be valid or legal. The Officiant is sufficient.
Once your Officiant pronounces you married, s/he will complete section 20 of your marriage license and return it to the city/town clerk that issued the license. Although required by statue to complete and return the license within a specified time frame, many Officiants will do so sooner. Ask your Officiant when s/he will complete the license and return it to the city/town clerk. Your Officiant cannot provide you with a copy of your license. You can obtain an official copy of your marriage license only from the city/town clerk's office that issued you the license. It is suggested that when you pick up your marriage license, you should inquire about the fee structure and process for obtaining certified copies of your marriage license. Each city/town can have its own fee structure and process.